How to Unlist your number from Truecaller

Truecaller has undoubtedly become a very useful tool in our mobile lives today. The service crowd-sources data from the millions of users who have downloaded the app on their smartphones. This data is then uploaded by the app to the company’s servers and effectively helps them create a ‘super-phonebook’ that can then be searched by anyone. One doesn’t have to have the Truecaller app to get listed, as long as someone somewhere with a smartphone and the app has your number, you are listed, complete with your name and number.

Clearly, this does not sit well with everyone out there. Luckily it is quite easy to unlist your number from Truecaller. Here is how to do it.

Advertisement - Continue reading below
  1. If you are a Truecaller user and have verified your number you must first Deactivate your account.To do this, go to Settings > About > Deactivate account.
  2. Go to Truecaller’s unlisting page, input your phone number in the search box and click unlist. It can take up to 24 hours before the number gets removed.

And that’s it!!