How to find out the password to a Wi-Fi network your PC is connected to

wi-fi

Situations come by when you are automatically connected to a Wi-Fi network from your laptop or desktop PC for a long time that you forget it completely. Well, you could forget it but your computer will not. Once you’ve connected to a Wi-Fi network from a PC, its Operating System will remember that password and you can always look it up on any other computer that’s currently connected to the network.

We are detailing for you the simple steps to follow when looking out for the password for both Windows and Mac computers.

Advertisement - Continue reading below

For Windows Laptops and Desktop PCs

  • Open up the Network and Sharing Center in the Control Panel by right-clicking on the Wireless Network icon in the taskbar and click Open Network and Sharing Center.
  • Click the name of the current Wi-Fi connection.
  • Click the Wireless Properties  button in the Wi-Fi Status window that appears.
  • Click the Security tab and activate the Show characters checkbox to view the hidden password.

Read About: First 802.11ax Wi-Fi routers from D-Link and Asus


For Mac Laptops and Desktop PCs

  • Press Command+Space to open the Spotlight search dialog, type Keychain Access, and press Enter to launch the Keychain Access app.
  • Locate the name of your Wi-Fi network in the list, click it, and then click the info (i) button at the bottom of the window.
  • Click the Show Password checkbox in the window that appears. You’ll have to enter your administrator account’s username and password to gain access to the password.

To Reset the password

If you can not find the Wi-Fi password, and have no access to your router’s web interface, the other option you could try is resetting your router and force it to use the default password as printed on it. Press a small reset button on the router with a small object for about ten seconds and the router’s settings will be completely erased and reset to their defaults. The Wi-Fi network name and password will be restored to the default ones on the router.