Its been a month since Twitter introduced its new design that many criticised for looking like Facebook because of the cover photo feature among others. A few weeks later Twitter rolled out the design to everyone. Just yesterday, Twitter introduced yet another feature called “Mute” that allows Twitter users on Android, iOS and Web to remove content they don’t want to see from specific users. Just like muting, you can also turn on notifications for specific users so you don’t miss a thing from them should you want to.
Twitter Explained how the feature works in a post on their official blog that,
Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you’ve muted them, and of course you can unmute at any time
You can mute a user from a Tweet on your iOS or Android device or on Twitter for web by tapping more and then mute @username. To mute someone from their profile page, tap the gear icon on the page and choose mute @username. The feature isn’t yet available for everyone but will be rolled out in the coming weeks.
Image: Android Police