Here are the 2015 MTN Innovation Award Winners

In probably one of the best organised tech awards, the inaugural 2015 MTN Innovation Awards yesterday recognized the efforts of Ugandan tech Innovators. The event that happened at Serena Hotel, brought together tech innovators, enthusiasts and  industry professionals.

MTN Uganda partnered with Huawei, ZTE, NITA and others for the award. The event was graced by officials from Huawei, ZTE, NITA and the state minister for ICT Nyombi Tembo as the chief guest.

Advertisement - Continue reading below

With quite a strict judging criteria, the different judges, each respected in their fields of expertise awarded 8 outstanding innovators and entrepreneurs from 125 applications. The panel of Judges included Michael Niyitegeka an ICDL accredited consultant and ICT professional, Susan Nsibirwa head of marketing New Vision a leading daily among others.

Each of the Winners received an Award, a cash prize of $1000 and an MTN 4G office pack. Here is a list of all the nominees and winners in the different categories.

1. Best SME App

  • Tikiti (Alvin Kato – Ignition Group LLC)
  • School Management Dynamics – Intelligent Works
  • NTVGo App & Creative DNA (Elijah Atuhaire – Creative DNA)

Winner: School Management Dynamics – Intelligent Works

2. Best Education App

  • Course Generator (Seguya Derrick)
  • SchoolsUganda (Ssenoga Badru)
  • BrainShare (Charles Muhindo)

Winner: BrainShare (Charles Muhindo)

3. Best Financial Services App

  • Mobis ChapChap (Opio Obwangamoi David)
  • Elma – CenteMobile, SimYo, BankYo, PrideMobi (Zinat Juma)
  • Yo! Payments Gateway (Gerald Begumisa)

Winner: Yo! Payments Gateway (Gerald Begumisa)

4. Best Health App

  • ClinicMaster (Wilson Kutegeka)
  • mHealth (mnBeF Project)
  • WinSenga (Edmund Ainebyona)

Winner: ClinicMaster (Wilson Kutegeka) 

Advertisement - Continue reading below

5. Best Enterprise effort to support Innovation

  • Creative Meet-Ups (Anthony Simpson)
  • Outbox (Richard Zulu)
  • FundiBots (Solomon King Benge)

Winner: Outbox (Richard Zulu)

6. Outstanding Woman in Innovation

  • Barbara Birungi (Hive Colab, WITU, Nakazade)
  • Lyndsay Handler (ReadyPay)

Winner: Lyndsay Handler (ReadyPay)

7. Most Innovative Mobile App

  • Tikiti (Alvin Kato – Ignition Group LLC)
  • Fezah (Ham Namakajjo)
  • WinSenga (Edmund Ainebyona)

Winner: Fezah (Ham Namakajjo)

8. Innovation Achiever of the Year

  • FundiBots (Solomon King Benge)
  • Fezah (Ham Namakajjo)
  • BrainShare (Charles Muhindo)

Winner: FundiBots (Solomon King Benge)

Image: Techjaja


Sign up to our Newsletter for expert advice and tips of how to get the most out of your Tech Gadgets

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.