Google Chrome’s New Update Will Warn Users About Mobile Subscription Scams

notifications

In a bid to scam users, there are web pages that give inadequate information about their subscription services. Behind the subscription, there are some billings you’ll be charged with that’s sometimes not obvious. And unknowing to you, you register your phone number; then you start noticing some unusual deductions in the long run. To provide more security, the next Google Chrome update is focused on tackling these sites with shady subscription services.

The new update -Chrome 71- will arrive on Google Chrome browsers next month. The update will be available to users on Chrome mobile, Chrome desktop and Android’s WebView platforms. So, before you become a victim of unwanted charges deduction, Google Chrome will notify you before you subscribe to these dubious mobile pages.

Advertisement - Continue reading below

In a blog post, Google said:

“Every month, millions of Chrome users encounter pages with insufficient mobile subscription information. Surprising charges that come from unclear communication are a poor user experience. That’s why starting from Chrome 71 (December 2018), Chrome will show a warning before these pages, so that users can make informed decisions when signing up to mobile based subscription services. Users will be offered the choice to proceed to the page or go back if they were unaware that they were entering a billing page.”

Once users encounter these kinds of websites, a warning page will appear. It will bear the headlining message: “the page ahead may try to charge you money”.

Warning Page

Google makes use of a system to detect sites that don’t have hidden charges. The system requires for web pages to meet certain prerequisites. The prerequisites, in the form of questions, are:

  • Clarity and visibility of fee information to users
  • Before accepting terms and conditions, can these users see the full costs?
  • Comprehension of the billing structure

So, once the web pages don’t meet up to standards, Chrome 71 will issue a warning. At this point, you can decide to proceed to the site or retrace your steps.

So, what’s your take on this new protective feature from US tech giant – Google?