In a concept similar to Facebook Messenger, Instagram has announced a new feature that will let your followers see when you’re using the app. You can expect to see a green dot next to the profile pics of friends who also are active online. This dot will show up in the direct messaging part of the app but also on your friend’s list when you go to share a post with someone.
Before this, Instagram was displaying how long ago someone was active with information like Active x minutes ago or Active Now in grey text next to their account info where your direct messages live.
Instagram says this new update is meant to make it easier to connect with friends over direct messages for more real time conversations.
How do I see who’s active on Instagram?
You can see when people who follow you or have direct conversations with were last active on Instagram, just as the people you follow or have direct conversations with can see when you were last active on Instagram. You’ll see a green dot next to their username and photo in your Direct inbox and elsewhere on Instagram. In your direct inbox, you’ll see their most recent activity status such as Active 25m ago, Active yesterday, Seen, or Typing...
How do I turn off my activity status on Instagram?
You can change the visibility of your activity status at any time. You can hide your own status and turn off the ability to see when your friends are active in the settings section of the Instagram app.
To change the visibility of your activity status: Go to your profile and tap the menu button in the top right, tap Activity Status, and then tap the switch next to Activity Status to turn off your activity status.
Keep in mind that when you turn off your activity status, you won’t be able to see anyone else’s.
Instagram has made lot’s of headlines of late. From reaching 1 billion users in the last week, support for longer videos in IGTV, to adding more features to its service recently – including group video calls, and an improved Explore tab. With the new Lite app, probably the next billion users will be those that haven’t ever shared a photo on the web yet.