Block vs Restrict On Instagram: What Are the Differences?

instagram lite

Many social media platforms have made it quite easy to take control of your timeline. Virtually all social media platforms have a Block feature to keep other users you’re not comfortable with away. However, sometimes, blocking someone online can become awkward, especially if you don’t want them to know. Well, that’s why you have a choice to either block or restrict on Instagram.

Instagram introduced the Restrict feature as a softer option than the Block feature. Think of it as a much lesser sentence to users when you don’t want to give out the ultimate block.

Advertisement - Continue reading below

This post will explore the major differences between blocking and restricting other users on Instagram. This will help you decide which you want to use in every instance.


READ MORE: How to See People That Share Your Posts on Instagram.


Instagram Block vs Restrict Differences

General Function

While the general function of the Block feature is to completely keep a user away from you, the Restrict feature keeps you from seeing what they do. Blocking a user means they can’t even find your profile, talk less of interacting with it. However, restricting them lets them interact with your profile but you won’t see it unless you wanted to.

Effect on Messages

Blocked users cannot send you a message at all. On the other hand, restricted users can send you messages. The catch here is that restricted users won’t be able to see when you’re online or if you’ve actually read their messages.

Effect on Comments

For restricted users, they can still comment on your posts. However, their comments will be visible to only them. Since this was an anti-bullying feature by Instagram, comments from restricted users on your posts would not be seen by you or your followers. While blocked users are entirely restricted from seeing or commenting on your posts.

Effect on Profile Visibility

When you block someone, they can’t see your profile anymore. When they click on it, it shows a “User not found” error message. Hence, they can’s see your feed and stories. While restricted users can see your feed and stories on Instagram.

Here’s a quick summary of the differences between the Instagram Block and Request feature:

BlockRestrict
Access to sending messages?NoYes (but limited)
Access to profile, feed, stories?No Yes
Access to commentsNoYes

How to Block a User On Instagram

Follow the steps below to block a user on Instagram.

  • Tap to visit the profile of the user you want to block.
  • Tap the 3 dotted icon located at the top right corner of the screen
  • Select the Block option.
  • Select Block button to confirm your action. And also select if you’d like to block new accounts they create.
block or restrict Instagram

How to Restrict a User On Instagram

Follow the steps below to restrict a user on Instagram.

  • Visit the profile of the user you want to restrict.
  • Tap the 3 dotted icon located at the top right corner of the screen
  • Select Restrict.
block or restrict Instagram

Instagram Block vs Restrict: Which Should You Use?

The decision on whether to block or restrict an Instagram user largely depends on your goal. If you don’t want them to have access to you at all anymore, you can block them. However, if you’d like them to still have access but want to limit your view of their comments and messages, then restricting is the best way to go.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.