How to Delete a Netflix Profile: Desktop, Mobile or TV (2022)

delete netflix profile

Netflix allows users a maximum of 5 profiles for each account. The reason for having different profiles is that users can share their accounts with friends and family. Others users use different profiles to have categorical suggestions for each profile. This means you can have an action movie-only profile, a horror movie profile, a kids profile and a guests profile.

Each profile can have distinguishing settings, profile picture, and name. Also, Netflix will allow you to set PIN locks and maturity levels for different profiles. One of the 5 profiles will be a primary profile that cannot be deleted unless you delete your Netflix account.

Advertisement - Continue reading below

You may be wondering whether deleting your Netflix profile is the same as deleting your Netflix account. No, when you delete a Netflix profile you will get rid of the settings, preferences, and content suggestions for that particular profile. This does not in any way affect the settings for that account. This means the owners of the other profiles will continue enjoying their profiles uninterrupted.

It is important to note that Netflix will preserve your account data for up to 10 months even after you have deleted your entire account and can be restored at any time within that period. However, when it comes to Netflix profiles, once you delete them, there is no going back. In this post, we will be guiding you on how you can delete a Netflix profile on different platforms. Let’s get started!


Also Read: How to Lock Your Netflix Profile with a PIN


1. How To Delete a Netflix Profile From Any Browser

Of course, you first need to be signed in to an account for you to be able to delete a profile.

  • Head over to Netflix.com and sign in.
  • Select the Profile Icon on the top right corner of your screen.
  • Click the Pencil Icon labelled Manage Profiles.
  • Select the Profile you want to delete.
  • Click Delete Profile at the bottom of the screen.
  • You will be prompted with a warning that deleting the profile will delete all the Watch History and profile preferences.
  • Click Delete Profile to finish the operation.

Also Read: Netflix’s New Parental Control Options: How to Use Them


2. Deleting Netflix Profiles From Mobile Devices; Android and IOS

If you have the Netflix app installed on your IOS or Android device, you can also delete a profile via the app. You just need to ensure you are not using the profile you intend to delete, otherwise, the app will display an error message.

  • Open the Netflix app on your mobile device.
  • Click the Profile Icon at the top right corner.
  • Select Manage Profile.
  • Tap on the Profile you need to delete
  • Again, tap Delete Profile at the bottom of screen

Also Read: 6 Netflix Tips to Boost Your Viewing Experience


3. How To Delete a Netflix Profile From Smart Tvs and Other Devices

A majority of people also use Netflix on other devices such as smart TVs and TV sticks like amazon’s Fire TV. Others use set-top boxes like the Xiaomi Mi Box S. Generally, the process for deleting a Netflix profile on any of these is quite similar.

  • Open the Netflix app on your device
  • go to the Menu items on the left
  • Click on the top left where it says Switch profiles
  • Select the Edit Icon below the profile you want to erase
  • Click Delete Profile at the bottom of the display

That’s pretty much it when it comes to deleting Netflix profiles on any device. If you are having trouble following our tutorial, kindly leave a comment below and we will come to your assistance.


Also Read: How to Change Netflix Download Location on PC


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.